My Favourite TARDIS Teams

Before I start, I just want to point out this is opinion-based and if you disagree then please comment but keep it civil…

10. The 2nd Doctor and The 3rd Doctor (Patrick Troughton and Jon Pertwee)

2 and 3These two were only together twice and I’m not really sure if they count as a TARDIS team however they were so brilliant together that I’m putting them at No.10 anyway. The 2nd Doctor not always doing a lot to help, the 3rd Doctor not even attempting to hide his disapproval of everything the 2nd says or does; hilarious chemistry that hasn’t been matched since.

9. The 5th Doctor and Tegan (Peter Davison and Janet Fielding)

5 and Tegan
I was thinking about putting Adric and Nyssa, or Turlough by their side too but I think these two are brilliant by themselves. Tegan started off as gobby and a bit annoying however she mellowed and came to enjoy her travels with the Doctor for a while and when she did, the chemistry she shared with the 5th Doctor was so good that it makes her farewell even more heart-breaking than it already is.

8. The 1st Doctor, Ian and Barbara (William Hartnell, William Russell and Jacqueline Hill)

1 Ian and BarbaraIan and Barbara started off as school teachers angry at the 1st Doctor because they wanted him to take them back while the 1st Doctor started off as a selfish and grumpy old man who refused. However, as the first season went on, Ian and Barbara began to like their adventures with the Doctor and the Doctor began to mellow and warm to them. In ‘The Chase’, Barbara and Ian’s final story, when the duo want to use Dalek technology to return home, the 1st Doctor is very concerned for their safety. Was it really that dangerous or did the 1st Doctor want them to stay with him? I like to think of it as the latter.

7. The 4th Doctor and Sarah-Jane (and Harry) [Tom Baker, Elisabeth Sladen and Ian Marter]

4 Sarah and Harry
The reason I put Harry in brackets is because originally, this slot was going to be reserved just for the 4th Doctor and Sarah-Jane. However, Harry was there for quite a few of their adventures together and he did make a nice addition to the team. However, I don’t think there’s a single person reading this who wouldn’t agree that the 4th Doctor and Sarah-Jane Smith were one of the greatest teams ever featured on television. While I appreciate they are arguably the best (and feel free to shove it up the list in your head), this is my favourites list and for me, there’s a few (six to be exact) other TARDIS teams that mean just that little bit more to me…

6. The 4th Doctor and Romana (Tom Baker, Mary Tamm and Lalla Ward)

4 and romana i
I realise it’s a bit of a cop out putting both Romanas under one name, but his banter and oddball conversations with both of them made me smile and laugh so much that I couldn’t decide. Romana I, my personal favourite of the two, was more of a match for the Doctor and their resent for each other that turned into friendship over the course of Season 16 was great to watch. Romana II was just as clever but more of the Doctor’s best friend than assistant; the regeneration in between actually made me laugh out loud.

5. The 10th Doctor and Donna (David Tennant and Catherine Tate)

10 and donna
If you’re a classic fan only then please just omit this from the list and imagine it’s a top 9. If you like the newer series as well, I’ll carry on. The 10th Doctor and Donna was a breath of fresh air for the revived series and went back to classic companion values. Rose sobbed pathetically over the 10th Doctor; and Martha, who admittedly I quite liked, fancied the Doctor. Donna on the other hand would never even consider that and finally, the Doctor’s companion wass back to being his best friend. She wasn’t a damsel in distress either and, like Romana I and Liz Shaw, was a bit of a match for him who would spot things that The Doctor sometimes wouldn’t. These two were my TARDIS team at the height of my childhood interest so that is why they mean more to me than they might to you.

4. The 7th Doctor and Ace (Sylvester McCoy and Sophie Aldred)

7th and ace
There isn’t a companion I don’t really like however before Ace we did have a period of weaker companions, so when she came along things started to get even more interesting. The 7th Doctor and Ace were such a wacky couple that could make you laugh, or even cry (‘The Curse of Fenric’, I’m looking at you). She was a misunderstood teenage girl that needed a bit of help from the Doctor to unlock her huge potential, and watching it happen is an awesome rollercoaster ride that I’d recommend to any Doctor Who fan.

3. The 3rd Doctor, Liz Shaw and the Brigadier (Jon Pertwee, Caroline John and Nicholas Courtney)

3 Liz and Brigadier
‘Spearhead from Space’ was the first story of Season 7 that I watched (and boy was it good). After I watched it, I remember saying to my brother “I quite like Liz as a companion actually”. Liz was smart, quite attractive, and no nonsense; seemed like my perfect companion. So after watching ‘Spearhead from Space’, the next three DVDs I bought were ‘The Ambassadors of Death’, ‘Inferno’ and ‘Doctor Who and the Silurians’. All four are four of the best stories of all time and after finishing a classic season for the first time, I was gutted that it wouldn’t be possible to watch a new story with Liz in again. Not technically a TARDIS team but they should’ve been…

2. The 4th Doctor and Leela (Tom Baker and Louise Jameson)

4 and LeelaIf you want to see just how good these two are together, I’d strongly recommend ‘The Talons of Weng-Chiang’. They’re funny, they’re smart, and they need each other. When they first met in ‘The Face of Evil’ both were lonely souls who needed best friends. What happened next was Doctor Who history. Leela made the Doctor more caring and compassionate while the Doctor helped Leela realise she was clever and important. Leela’s independence and ability to work on her own was also nice to see in a companion, not needing the Doctor to rescue her from every situation. Also, her escape from Mr Sin in ‘The Talons of Weng-Chiang’, which I shall not spoil, is one of my favourite Doctor Who moments of all time.

1. The 2nd Doctor and Jamie (plus his other companions) [Patrick Troughton, Frazer Hines, Anneke Wills, Michael Craze, Deborah Watling and Wendy Padbury]

2nd and CompanionsLike No.6, a massive cop out here, but so I could fit more people on the list (and because I couldn’t decide on one team), I’ve put all the 2nd Doctor’s companions into one. Firstly, the 2nd Doctor; funny, witty, mischievous; he’s my favourite Doctor of all time and he absolutely worked with all five of his companions. Jamie was his longest serving (and has the most episodes under his quilt overall), and together they were unstoppable. Blundering into trouble whenever they were left alone, these two were so useless yet so clever at the same time that you can’t not love them. Next, Ben and Polly; I love Ben and Polly and it’s such a shame they don’t have more complete stories available to watch. However, from what I have seen, it’s clear to me that they are awesome and that the Doctor definitely deserved them. Finally, Victoria and Zoe; both assumed the third role in the TARDIS team alongside Jamie and the Doctor, however both bought something different. Victoria was quite sweet and helped Jamie become the caring person he was. When she left in Fury of the Deep, even the audio is enough to make you feel incredibly sad; and it’s even worse once you’ve seen the end of ‘The War Games’. Zoe on the other hand was smart and, in the case of the 2nd Doctor, probably was actually smarter than him. Their constant competitions to see who was the cleverest, and the scene in ‘The Krotons’ where The Doctor isn’t listening to what Zoe’s telling him to do, all makes for brilliant viewing. Oh, and I can’t forget the Brig!

Just for the record:

My favourite 6th Doctor TARDIS team, Mel (they worked and could’ve been amazing together);
My favourite 9th Doctor TARDIS team, Rose (but Mickey, Jackie and Captain Jack were all good too);
My favourite 11th Doctor TARDIS team, Clara (I didn’t really like Amy, Rory and River).

[Number 8 was supposed to be Ian, Barbara and Vicki on my plan so apologies, I have no idea how I missed her out]

2 thoughts on “My Favourite TARDIS Teams

  1. Ben Foster says:

    Very happy to see the amazing Tennant and Tate get some love here. Their on-screen chemistry was absolutely crazy, and I’ve often wished we could have gotten a second season with those two – definitely my favorite Doctor-companion pairing of the new series. My favorite of the classic series would probably be Pertwee and Manning.

Leave a Reply

